h1

Reasons to create Photo Books

July 28, 2008

Every photographer and scrapper is looking for a way of doing more with their photos and layouts.  But they may not be sure what that “more” might be.   Here are some ideas on how you can use photo books to extend your creativity:

  1. Tell a story. If, for example, you’ve taken a series of photos – from your summer vacation, from protest rallies or a series about conservation – a printed photo book can put those shots into a collection that captures the emotion or helps to move the viewer in some way.
  2. Capture an event. Concert photographers and wedding photographers don’t just snap a single picture – they take a number of photos that really show the completeness of an event. Photo books display the whole experience, not just a single moment in time.
  3. Preserve memories. An amazing vacation. Your child’s first year of school.  Your family tree.  With a printed photo book, you can keep your memories fresh.
  4. Create unique gifts. A collection of your layouts is a gift that a digiscrapper can give that no one else can.
  5. Share a part of yourself. When you capture moments or things that you are passionate about, gathering them in a printed photo book gives you the opportunity to share the world as you see it.

There are a lot of photo book companies out there, and I’ve tired many of them.  To date my personal favorite is Viovio.  They offer a quality product at a very affordable price, plus great customer service!

8 comments

  1. I have yet to print any photo books – so far I have just made my own mini-albums. Maybe I need to look into this more….


  2. I’ll have to try Viovio…I’ve only made them at Shutterfly, but have been very pleased with the books and the customer service thus far! Thanks for the tips! 🙂


  3. I love how you summed up the reason for books kinda reminds me of the reason I do it but never really put it into words 😉


  4. Good reasons! Now I just actually have to get books printed. I keep telling myself I will and then I go into shock at the price. I suppose it’s not really any different than if I printed layouts as I completed them, it’s just all at once instead of spread out.


  5. I haven’t made a photo book YET, but I think I will look into it! Thanks for the post!


  6. I have printed two books at Viovio.com and I am 100% satisfied. Both of them were 8.5 suare, soft cover, and they are WONDERFUL. I printed multiple copies to give as gifts to family members, and they also loved them. The only reason I have not done more – not enough time right now.


  7. Thanks for the info, I love my photobooks, but I’ve only tried Shutterfly.


  8. I am interested to see that Viovio is your fav place to publish books. I am trying to love them because I’ve heard such good reports. But I find their site so user-unfriendly that I am about to bail and use Shutterfly, where I have found ease of use to be worth a lot.

    I uploaded 19 pages to them in the order (numbered 01-19) I wanted them printed, but they came out willy-nilly. I even renumbered them (starting with 100 and moving up by 10’s) and they still came out goofy. They returned my email, but the answers were untintelligible to me. The tech was sweet and polite, but I’m still waiting to hear back from them again.

    Shar



Leave a Reply

